Pseudapanteles raulsolorzanoi

General description: 

Holotype: ♀ in CNC. COSTA RICA, ACG, Guanacaste Province, Sector Cacao, Cerro Pedregal, 1080m, 10.92767, -85.47449, 22.xi.2008. ACG database code: DHJPAR0033842.
Paratypes. 1 ♀, 12 ♂ (BMNH, CNC, INBio, INHS, NMNH). COSTA RICA, ACG database codes: DHJPAR0013239, DHJPAR0013404, DHJPAR0013405, DHJPAR0013411, DHJPAR0013416, DHJPAR0013419, DHJPAR0013420, DHJPAR0013422, DHJPAR0013425, DHJPAR0013426, DHJPAR0013427, DHJPAR0013605, DHJPAR0013609.
Diagnosis. It belongs to the gouleti species-group, and can be separated from other species within that group based on anteromesoscutum and axillar complex with some orange spots, head mostly brown-black posteriorly but orange on most of frons and face, and scape yellow, contrasting with brown flagellomeres.
Description. Female. Body length 2.2–2.3 mm. Fore wing length 2.4–2.5 mm. Head color: mostly dark brown to black; except for orange on most of frons and face, and yellow clypeus, labrum, mandibles, and spot on lower corner of gena near oral foramen. Flagellomere color: all flagellomere brown to black. Mesosoma color: mostly dark brown to black, except for posterior 0.4 of anteromesoscutum orange. Metasoma color (dorsally): mostly dark brown to black, except for yellow-orange anterior 0.4–0.6 of mediotergite 1. Coxae color: pale/pale/mostly or completely dark. Metatibia color: pale. Metatarsus color: pale. Pterostigma color: entirely dark. Mediotergite 1 length/width at posterior margin 4.1–4.5 ×. Mediotergite 1 maximum width/width at posterior margin 1.9–2.0 ×. Mediotergite 2 width at posterior margin/length: 3.2–3.3 ×. Mediotergite 2 sculpture: Mostly with longitudinally striate sculpture (sometimes with small, smooth area centrally). Ovipositor sheaths length: 0.8 × as long as metatibia. Male. As female, but with darker coloration on mesosoma, metasoma and legs.


Costa Rica, ACG dry forest.

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith